Results

Peter Richardson mail: peter.richardson@innovation-km.com | web: peter.innovation-km.com | when: Fri, 26 Aug 2016 00:14:34 +0000
Where The Death Penalty Still Lives
As capital punishment declines nationwide, a tiny fraction of the country generates an alarming number of death sentences. What this new geography tells us about justice in America.
Brian Torres mail: brian.torres@innovation-km.com | web: brian.innovation-km.com | when: Fri, 26 Aug 2016 08:21:03 +0000
Frank Ocean's Album Is The Straw That Broke Universal Music's Back (And It May Get Him Sued)
In the end, Frank Ocean won, and walked away with his freedom and his money. Calculating those who lost, however, is a much more complicated equation.
Arthur Lewis mail: arthur.lewis@affablyhomonym.com | web: arthur.affablyhomonym.com | when: Fri, 26 Aug 2016 07:18:03 +0000
Kuwait’s New DNA Collection Law Is Scarier Than We Ever Imagined
Horrible laws often follow major terrorist attacks. But after an ISIS-linked man ignited a bomb in a Shiite mosque in Kuwait last year, killing 27, the mother of all troubling laws was rushed through the country’s Parliament.
Earl Phillips mail: earl.phillips@klarkzon.eu | web: earl.klarkzon.eu | when: Tue, 23 Aug 2016 22:16:20 +0000
Everything You Need To Know About Self-Publishing A Book (Part One)
We answer all the self-publishing questions you didn’t even know to ask. From book formatting to finding (quality) editors, part one of our self-publishing series tells you exactly how to get your book to print.
Jeff Gray mail: jeff.gray@horse-d.eu | web: jeff.horse-d.eu | when: Thu, 25 Aug 2016 21:55:15 +0000
Jet Ski Rider Gets Up Close And Personal With A Tiger Shark
Drum lines are baited hooks used to lure and capture sharks, often used to protect swimming areas. This poor guy got himself trapped real good.
Shawn Long mail: shawn.long@thedarkswans.com | web: shawn.thedarkswans.com | when: Fri, 26 Aug 2016 05:15:03 +0000
How Ice Becomes Knowledge
Up close and personal with a new core of very old Antarctic ice.
Nicholas James mail: yahoo@horse-d.eu | web: nicholas.horse-d.eu | when: Fri, 26 Aug 2016 04:15:03 +0000
How The Private Prison Industry Is Adjusting To Its Extinction
They’ve highjacked the language of reform — but for them, it’s still business as usual.
Steven Ramos mail: steven.ramos@onlyforyounotfor.me | web: steven.onlyforyounotfor.me | when: Thu, 25 Aug 2016 18:09:37 +0000
Technology Has Completely Changed The Meaning Of The Word 'Death'
Hundreds of years ago, if someone looked dead, they were considered dead. Since then, a number of inventions — from CPR to the defibrillator to life support — has proved that notion incorrect.
Dennis Washington mail: dennis.washington@pulpfrictions.com | web: dennis.pulpfrictions.com | when: Fri, 26 Aug 2016 02:15:03 +0000
Airbnb Probably Isn’t Driving Rents Up Much, At Least Not Yet
According to analysis from FiveThirtyEight, the number of units Airbnb rents out in major cities is small, but the revenue is huge.
Alan Flores mail: alan.flores@hockeymail.de | web: alan.hockeymail.de | when: Fri, 26 Aug 2016 01:15:03 +0000
Paris Is Redesigning Its Major Intersections For Pedestrians, Not Cars
The new designs make sure pedestrians get at least 50% of the public space, lanes of traffic be damned.
Mark Washington mail: google@klarkzon.eu | web: mark.klarkzon.eu | when: Thu, 25 Aug 2016 18:50:40 +0000
Celebrate The National Park Service's 100th Birthday With Interactive Adventures Of America's Hidden Worlds
Dive, climb and spelunk your way through some of America's most beautiful parks in these interactive tours.
Jeffery Clark mail: jeffery.clark@ventredi.eu | web: jeffery.ventredi.eu | when: Thu, 25 Aug 2016 20:59:10 +0000
Little People in Hollywood: Low Pay, Degrading Jobs And A Tragic Death
The recent death of a 4-foot-1 cabaret act known as "Mini Kim Kardashian" reveals the uncomfortable reality of how slowly things have evolved since the days of the freak show.
Vincent Flores mail: vincent.flores@hockeymail.de | web: vincent.hockeymail.de | when: Thu, 25 Aug 2016 22:18:10 +0000
Ping Pong Is A Lot More Intense When You Use Household Items For Paddles
A frying pan looks like it would be great for batting a ping pong ball around. Same with a big, flat chef's knife. That is not the case.
Lee Parker mail: lee.parker@geheime.club | web: lee.geheime.club | when: Thu, 25 Aug 2016 23:24:22 +0000
Legal Hydroponics And The Marijuana Black Market
In states that have legalized pot for medical or recreational use, hydroponic supply companies are poised for record growth. But in states where pot farming is still a felonious offense, stores selling hydroponic equipment are battlefronts in the war against weed.
Lee Gray mail: lee.gray@daftest.website | web: lee.daftest.website | when: Thu, 25 Aug 2016 19:36:26 +0000
Today In 2016: Trump Supporter Shocked By Trump Statement — Keeps Clapping
Welcome to Today In 2016, your daily digest of all things election. Today a new Clinton ad ties Trump to white supremacists, Mike Pence drew bad cartoons, and the four futures of the Republican party.
Daniel Martin mail: daniel.martin@hockeymail.de | web: daniel.hockeymail.de | when: Thu, 25 Aug 2016 22:54:39 +0000
John Lennon On His First Acid Trip
John Lennon had no idea George Harrison's dentist slipped LSD into his coffee. He was too busy worrying that the weird dude was trying to coerce him into an orgy.
Henry Boyd mail: henry.boyd@ventredi.eu | web: henry.ventredi.eu | when: Thu, 25 Aug 2016 23:24:22 +0000
Getting POTUS Into A Disaster Area Is Kind Of A Disaster
Planning a presidential trip is always hard. Setting one up — that’s called “advance” in political lingo — during a disaster is almost unfathomably difficult.
Mark Campbell mail: mark.campbell@klarkzon.eu | web: mark.klarkzon.eu | when: Thu, 25 Aug 2016 22:15:35 +0000
The Strange Tale Of JFK's Goat-Out-The-Vote Campaign
One of JFK's first campaign strategies involved a rambunctious goat.
Nicholas Owens mail: nicholas.owens@dwindlingscrabble.xyz | web: nicholas.dwindlingscrabble.xyz | when: Tue, 23 Aug 2016 14:28:38 +0000
Everything The Internet Is Saying About Donald Trump In One Easy Feed
The best way to keep up with the Republican candidate is by keeping this tab open all day.
Johnny White mail: johnny.white@hockeymail.de | web: johnny.hockeymail.de | when: Tue, 23 Aug 2016 14:28:38 +0000
Everything The Internet Is Saying About Hillary Clinton In One Easy Feed
She hasn't done a press conference in a while, but that doesn't mean she isn't making news. Check here to see the latest on the Democratic candidate.
Dennis Mitchell mail: dennis.mitchell@innovation-km.com | web: dennis.innovation-km.com | when: Thu, 25 Aug 2016 22:15:35 +0000
What It Really Means To 'Take The L'
Ringer illustration2016 has been vile in many ways, but it’s been a terrific year for feuds. Dwayne Johnson v. Vin Diesel, Kimye v. Taylor Swift, Ryan Lochte v. Personal
Brandon Reynolds mail: brandon.reynolds@ventredi.eu | web: brandon.ventredi.eu | when: Thu, 25 Aug 2016 15:48:40 +0000
A GIF Illustrating How Flight Paths Change Based On The Wind
Because the earth is round, planes don't travel in straight lines and instead follow curved routes along the earth's "great circles."  But every flight path varies a bit based on atmospheric conditions — this nifty GIF illustrates how wind patterns affect the New York to London flight.
Nynke Van der louw mail: nvdlouw@yahoo.com | web: http://greatestcamps.nl/ | when: Thu, 25 Aug 2016 19:53:11 +0000
We’re Paying CEOs All Wrong
We could probably pay CEOs less just by giving them more near-term incentives.
Gregory Howard mail: gregory.howard@hockeymail.de | web: gregory.hockeymail.de | when: Thu, 25 Aug 2016 20:59:10 +0000
Why Democrats Keep Winning Presidential Elections
If Hillary Clinton beats Donald Trump, her party will have set a record in American politics.
Benjamin Bryant mail: benjamin.bryant@ventredi.eu | web: benjamin.ventredi.eu | when: Thu, 25 Aug 2016 17:14:17 +0000
Kevin Wants Everybody To Know How Freaking Excited He Is To Start The Fourth Grade
Also, HE IS NOT A BABY AND KNOWS HOW TO RIDE A BIKE ALREADY, MOM.
Harold Bryant mail: harold.bryant@innovation-km.com | web: harold.innovation-km.com | when: Thu, 25 Aug 2016 17:52:30 +0000
All Queens Must Die
On Santa Cruz Island, they killed the cows, sheep and bees. Now it’s time to finish the job.
Kevin White mail: kevin.white@ventredi.eu | web: kevin.ventredi.eu | when: Thu, 25 Aug 2016 17:17:30 +0000
Government Hackers Caught Using Unprecedented iPhone Spy Tool
The tools and technology needed for such an attack, which is essentially a remote jailbreak of the iPhone, can be worth as much as one million dollars.
Jimmy Peterson mail: jimmy.peterson@daftest.website | web: jimmy.daftest.website | when: Thu, 25 Aug 2016 15:13:45 +0000
The Complete Developer Bundle
Front-end web, game design, mobile design — this bundle’s got you covered.
Ronald Butler mail: ronald.butler@klarkzon.eu | web: ronald.klarkzon.eu | when: Thu, 25 Aug 2016 20:59:09 +0000
It’s Hard To Make a Perfect Bagel Without Lye
After making 300 mediocre bagels, one man finally finds the secret to making that New York bagel at home.
Fred Roberts mail: fred.roberts@thedarkswans.com | web: fred.thedarkswans.com | when: Thu, 25 Aug 2016 19:53:11 +0000
Inside The Brutal But Bizarrely Bureaucratic World Of The Islamic State In Libya
Even as they ruled through fear and brutality, as their counterparts have in Syria and Iraq, Islamic State officials in Libya aspired to create a government with a functioning bureaucracy, public services and a credible judicial system.
Harold Harrison mail: harold.harrison@ventredi.eu | web: harold.ventredi.eu | when: Thu, 25 Aug 2016 17:14:17 +0000
How YouTube Works: A Conversation With The Engineers That Make The Magic Happen
Though YouTube has its imperfections, uploading and watching videos on the prolific platform is generally a seamless experience. This is pretty darn amazing when you consider all of the file types, resolutions and formats YouTube has to account for as it disseminates videos to one billion people across the globe.
Harold Harris mail: harold.harris@klarkzon.eu | web: harold.klarkzon.eu | when: Thu, 25 Aug 2016 18:50:40 +0000
A Look Back At GE's 1960s Exoskeleton Prototype
In the days before cyborgs became a part of the popular imagination, much less artificial intelligence, researchers focused on “man-augmentation” systems. Humans would provide the brains and machines the brawn.
Patrick Bryant mail: gmail@ventredi.eu | web: patrick.ventredi.eu | when: Thu, 25 Aug 2016 18:50:40 +0000
Berlin's Subway Stations Are Prettier Than Yours
This photographer took on Berlin's entire U-Bahn network, one station at a time.
Bruce Torres mail: bruce.torres@klarkzon.eu | web: bruce.klarkzon.eu | when: Thu, 25 Aug 2016 15:18:27 +0000
That Time News Anchors Cracked Up On Air After Interviewing Ryan Lochte
At the time, it probably seemed pretty mean to laugh at a dopey but lovable Olympian. But now, we can all stand with Fox 29.
Billy Boyd mail: billy.boyd@ventredi.eu | web: billy.ventredi.eu | when: Thu, 25 Aug 2016 17:52:30 +0000
Exercise Boosts Brain Health, But Is There A Downside?
Is it possible that exercise could be almost too much of a good thing for our brains?
Arthur Carter mail: arthur.carter@hockeymail.de | web: arthur.hockeymail.de | when: Thu, 25 Aug 2016 16:29:54 +0000
The Full Story Behind The Undocumented Workers That Helped Build Trump Tower
Donald Trump has long denied knowingly employing illegal workers that helped to demolish the building that would be replaced by Trump Tower, but recently revealed documents show that he knowingly sought out the workers and paid them illegal wages.
Philip Ramirez mail: philip.ramirez@geheime.club | web: philip.geheime.club | when: Thu, 25 Aug 2016 15:18:27 +0000
Talent Doesn’t Win Oscars, But Money Does
In order to get their movies nominated for major awards, movie studios have to spend money. A lot of money. "Adam Ruins Everything" explains how those studios spend millions of dollars after the move is already out to bribe awards voters.
Douglas Kennedy mail: douglas.kennedy@affablyhomonym.com | web: douglas.affablyhomonym.com | when: Thu, 25 Aug 2016 16:52:08 +0000
The Men’s Dress Shoe Hierarchy
From the most plain and simple shoes cut from a single piece of smooth leather, to intricately detailed shoes featuring fancy stitching, perforations and edging, a man’s got a lot of options when it comes to dress shoes.
Alfred Ward mail: alfred.ward@horse-d.eu | web: alfred.horse-d.eu | when: Thu, 25 Aug 2016 14:26:01 +0000
Most Welfare Dollars Don’t Go Directly To Poor People Anymore
Twenty years after President Bill Clinton fulfilled his vow to “end welfare as we know it,” it’s fair to say: mission accomplished. The old U.S. welfare system is dead. Whether the system that replaced it is better for the poorest Americans remains the subject of fierce debate.
Glenn Jackson mail: glenn.jackson@ventredi.eu | web: glenn.ventredi.eu | when: Thu, 25 Aug 2016 14:28:31 +0000
This Guy Riding A Unicycle On Top Of An 800-Foot Chimney Is Making Our Palms Sweat
Seriously. If he falls in that hole, it's more than 800 feet before he hits the bottom. And if he falls the other way, it's the same thing.
more